When I delete something from my computer, my understanding is that the byte in the first place on that part of the hard drive is changed [to E5?], indicating that the location is available for storage. Until something else overwrites it, the original material remains. Now, suppose I write emails, then delete them and empty the trash. Is the text of those emails at that point actually erased from my email program server? [I assume it is not stored on my own hard drive.] Suppose the recipient of the email does the same. Is there somewhere in the cloud where that data remains?
Am I even asking this question correctly?